2009 FLOW Tour Press Release


Hosting 125 competitors from 8 states, competing in 12 divisions in both Bodyboarding and Flowboarding, the Cajun Classic was the largest tour opener in FLOW SERIES history.  The level of riding also proved historic as competitors relentlessly pushed each other, displaying every maneuver and style imaginable (and a few never before thought of or seen!). It was an amazing display for all who witnessed the next level riding in the biggest Flowboarding arena in the nation at WATERVILLE, AL.  Host Joe Warrington along with Head Judge and Tour Director Chris Grannone both agreed it “was the most technically progressive Flowriding ever witnessed.”

template 1pg

2009 FLOW Schedule of Events


Brandon Fenske (WI) captured the Expert Division crown by edging 2008 tour champ Sean Silveira, FL in an unbelievable display of Flowriding.  The Expert Bodyboard final was full of fireworks with Christian Cook earning the victory by narrowly defeating FlowRider World record holder Matt Griffin.

The Bodyboarders kicked off the show with 75 competitors battling in 7 divisions.  Morgan Seabert of New Braunfels, TX earned the Victory in both the Female and Junior divisions with polished routines incorporating both prone and Drop Knee in her runs.  The Men’s division was once again won by Shane Lewandowski was a solid showing.  The Masters division featured a Texas Round up with Cathy Seabert beating Fellow Texans Tracy Carroll and Steve Smith with versatile runs complete with her patented “The Unreal” move.

The Drop Knee division was the largest and one of the most exciting divisions of the event, with 20 competitors battling through three rounds just to reach the finals in this star studded affair.  A major buzz went through the venue as Five Time National champion Tyler Danek, 2009 Drop Knee Pro Champ Steven Manuel and 2009 Flow for Dough Champ Brad Ewing were all eliminated in the semis.  As the Finals unfolded, a mind blowing exchange of routines that included skills, styles, and maneuvers never before witnessed. DK back carve rail grind to nozzle grind 360 combos, DK rollos (cookie cutters),  DK 360 shuvit to switch, and a game winning Air 360 over Wake that were basically blowing minds of those in attendance.  When the dust had settled, top honors went to Nick Nguyen of Dallas, TX.  Matt Griffin, of Atlanta, Georgia closed for second while Gulf Shores Christian Cook and Dustin Creech earned third and fourth respectively.

Expert BB was equally impressive with another amazing final.  Christian Cook claimed the top spot  while earning a $ 500.00 sponsorship package presented by Body Glove.  Matt Griffin earned $ 250 for his second place showing, Nick Nguyen pocketed $ 150.00 in third and Tyler Danek, TX took home $ 100.00 for his fourth place finish.

On the Flowboarding side of the comp, 50+ competitors competed in 5 divisions.   The Flowriding in all divisions was outstanding with Abbie Gilgore earning top honors in the female final followed by Danielle Gray from Massanutten, VA in second, narrowly edging out Ashton Buck of Gulf Shores, and Kimberly Koyles (3rd and 4th respectively).  Young charger Noah Holmes slid by Dalton Emily for the top spot in Youth Flowboard and Dan Smith snagged the Victory in the Masters division.  In the Junior division, Christian Cook display the right stuff by defeating Chandler Lee with Yev Lyaskoswi in third.

The Men’s Flowboard Final was a highlight reel in itself, featuring all former Expert Division Winners.  Aaron Dean of Massanutten, VA  was the official “winner of winners” in this final by starting his runs with sky walking acid drop entries landing at the bottom of the matt followed by a polished front side-back-side, switch 360 lip combos. Robert Puls, IL prevailed for second while Andy Haase, IL (former Expert Waterville champ) rode to a solid third with Dan Higgins of WI taking down fourth.

The Expert Flowboard final was one for the books!!  Brandon Fenske battled for a tightly contested, split decision victory by TKO over 2008 FLOW Series Champion Sean Silvera, thus earning a $ 500.00 Body Glove sponsorship deal with Silvera pocketing $ 250 for his second place result.  Cody Morrow went huge earning his final spot and Pocketed $ 150.00 for his third place showing while Curtis Lam of Massanutten, VA nets $ 100. or his fourth place effort.

The Wave Loch Flow Series Tour opener, the “Cajun Classic” provided groundbreaking performances across the board including Danielle Gray of Massanutten opting to compete at the highest level in Expert BB rather than the open Female division.  Way to push the envelope Danielle!!  In addition, over $ 5000.00 in cash and prizes were awarded, as well as significant Flow Time.  All of this was provided by Waterville host and passionate Flowboarder Joe Warrington, who topped off the affair with his annual Crawfish cookout.  Thanks to Joe for another “Classic” event.

Next stop on the 16 event Wave Loch FLOW SERIES is May 16th at Massanutten, VA.  It is a AA rated event with a $ 2500 Expert Purse, Massanutten always cooks up a great competition.  We’ll see you there!!