2011 Malibu FLOW Championships

The Malibu FLOW Championships 2011 Presented by the City of Durban – Sunday 9th October

The world’s best flowriding athletes took center stage at Wave House, Gateway Theatre of Shopping today for The Malibu FLOW Championships 2011 presented by the City of Durban.FLOW 11The Men’s Strapless Division was such an unbelievable display of progressive riding and there were upsets galore in the semi finals. US’s Greg Lazarus and Eric Silverman were expected to win their heats, however nerves got to them and they were taken to task by the South African gladiators who didn’t put a foot wrong. That paved the way for an all South African final and Wesley Fischer dominated it from the siren. Andrew Carrie and Clayton Barker pushed the limits and either one of them could have snatched the win, but when Fischer is in that kind of form it’s hard to stop him.

The Men’s Strapped Final had SA’s Matt Lammers leading the sports show-piece division with his unbelievably technical display of flips and rotations until Eric Silverman of the US upped his game and put together a flawless run that notched up the highest score of the event from all three judges. Greg Lazarus claimed a respectable third and the Wild Card Robbie Whyte was stoked to get fourth. It was a brilliant display and the spectators were cheering every run from beginning to end. It should be noted that Eric’s double cork backflip was ridiculous.

Amy Luis from the US comfortably won both the ladies divisions with her clean mix of style and confidence while mixing it up switch and regular. Sarah Bloch was her nearest rival and gave it her all, but will need to put in the hours to take next year’s title. Clair Reid and Nicole Buraschi were third and fourth respectively and were ripping the entire event, but just ran out of gas for the finals.

The Bodyboarding Prone Division was the Billy Tennant show who was simply untouchable. The Wave House Durban local was in the form of his life and was thrilled to take the title mixing in huge barrel rolls, Hubbs and his tweaked inverts. Mike Ossler had charged throughout the event, but couldn’t touch Tennant and Chris Childers from the US rode his heart out and came in third. Jared Visick was stoked to make it to the finals of his first major bodyboarding event.

The team title looked in the bag for South Africa after the early exit of the Americans in the strapless semis, however their overall consistency throughout the event was sublime and they are true champions and get to keep the coveted trophy for yet another year. Dubai and Singapore and Chile were all separated by one placing meaning that anyone moving one spot higher in any heat would have had them in third position! It was that close!

What an awesome event. Flowriders from around the world now eagerly await next years event.

Sponsors: Special thanks to Malibu, The City of Durban, Gateway Hotel, Primi Express, Quiksilver, Havaianas and Gateway Theatre of Shopping.

FLOW CHAMPS (2)Team USA wins the team event over SA in 2nd and Dubai in 3rd.

Overall Men’s World FLOW Champion – Clayton Barker – Durban SA
Overall Women’s World FLOW Champion – Amy Luis – San Diego USA
Overall Bodyboard World FLOW Champion – Billy Tennant – Durban SA

Winner Expert Strapped – Eric Silverman, USA
Winner Expert Strapless – Wesley Fischer, SA
Winner Bodyboard Prone – Billy Tennant, SA
Winner Bodyboard Dropknee – Nick Nguyen, USA
Winner Women’s Strapped – Amy Luis, USA
Winner Women’s Strapless – Amy Luis, USA
Winner FlowRider Expert – Sean Silveira, USA
Winner FlowRider Women’s – Vanessa Arroyo, USA
Winner FlowRider Bodyboard – Nick Nguyen, USA